ALC | Algebra, Logic and Computation


The research group of Algebra, Logic and Computation is composed of 19 PhD members, 4 PhD students and1 scholarship.

In collaboration with colleagues in other national and international research units, the members of this group carry out research in the domains of Algebra and Logic, specifically in the areas of matrix theory, numerical linear algebra, semigroup theory, structural proof theory, type theory, and automata and formal languages theory, with a particular attention to applications in Computer Science, in the areas of theory of programming languages, functional programming, automata and formal languages, and algebraic coding theory.


PHD Members

Non PHD Members

Useful Links

Last Publications

Revista Brasileira de História da Matemática | 2022

Francisco Alves

Lecture Notes in Mechanical Engineering | 2022

A. Borges

F. Duarte

I.C. Lopes

L. Vicente

M. Cruz

C. Poço

Related Events

Lab4, Departamento de Matemática, Campus de… | -

The ALC Meeting 2022 is organized by the research group Algebra,…

| | 12:00

Sandra Alves,  Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade do Porto

hybrid format | | 15:00

Orador: René Gazzari

(investigator do CMAT)


University of Minho | -

This international meeting aims to bring face to face well-known…

Universidade do Algarve, Faro | - | 09:00

This biennial meeting aims at bringing together mathematicians,…

hybrid format | | 11:00

Nelson Martins-Ferreira

Online | - | 16:15


José Espírito Santo

School of Sciences of the University of Minho,… | | 09:00

The ALC Meeting 2021 is organized by the research group Algebra,…

hybrid format | | 12:00

Prof. Charles Johnson



University of Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro | -

The Fifth Workshop New Trends in Quaternions and Octonions…

online | | 14:30

Mohammed Berkani

online | | 14:30

Mohammed Berkani

Pole I of ECVA - Geosciences Auditorium, UTAD |

The Open Day of CMAT is dedicated to research…

online | -

The following sessions are part of the scientific programme of the…

online | | 14:00

Rui Soares Barbosa  (INL)


online | | 14:30

Patrícia Beites

online | | 15:00

Paula Maria Machado Cruz…

online | | 15:00

Charles Johnson

online | | 12:00

José Espírito Santo

online | | 11:00

Huihui Zhu

Sala de Seminários do DMAT (sala 3.08), Campus de… | | 14:30

José Carlos Costa